tsf36

POVERTY AND HUNGER IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

In Uncategorized on May 1, 2013 at 7:18 am

I never write about politics. I am neither liberal nor conservative. I am not a republican or democrat. I do however watch the news. I hear the arguments that rule Capitol Hill and the country. I am disgusted by what see. I am discussed by what my country has become. The country that my great grandparents came to from Italy. They were looking for a better life for themselves and for us. I can’t help but wonder given the state of our country if they would be sad or disappointed? If I were to write an article I have a feeling I would ramble so: Here it is. A poem, agree or not. Please if nothing else, think and reevaluate. Challenge you’re prospective. If nothing more read and try to see life from a different place.

POOR IN THE USA.

What a sobering and somber moment. The moment you look at the news and realize, I am who they speak of. I am the forty seven percent. I am the lazy, the victim. Some call me the needy the working poor. Some are not so flattering.

I read the comments under article’s. I watch the interviews and arguments. I am sickened by what I see. I look and say “That’s me” I am exploited by both sides; I am a poster child to place blame. I am a platform. A platform for those who want to get elected. I am a crotch to people who need to feel good about them self.

Yes I am that person. I struggle to feed my family. I skip meals so my children don’t have to. Yes! That’s me. I drain the system so my kids can eat low quality food. Yes that’s me. I am that person. Do gooders say “they need education and a living wage”. Yes I am the one. The one you call entitled, I should take responsibility for my family. Yes, here I am, it’s another day of political rights for you.  For me however, another day or coffee to fend of hunger. For me, today is another day or stress. Today for me is another day or Fear and tears. Today is another day of what should I do next.

Yes that’s me they are talking about. Yet they don’t really see me. Would you be surprised to know this? I am smart, educated and real. I am plagued with illness both mental and physical. So much so I can’t stand on my own two feet. I have eight prescriptions, I can’t afford to take. Why only because the money I don’t make.

Yes I am that person. You have seen me on the street. I look just like you. I take my kids to the park. I sit next to you at church.  Yes I am the person you debate over. Some say I have brought it on myself. Some say I am in need more education. Then they say dig yourself out of a bad situation! Do you know what it’s like? Do you live my life? I am the Mom you say needs a helping hand. I am the one you discuss over brunch. Go ahead eat your filet mingion Please don’t get me wrong thank you for your support. Letters to congress no matter how well-meaning don’t put food on my table or help me sleep at night.

Yes I am that person so talked about. I am that person never seen. Yes! I have waited in the welfare line for hours. I was treated less than a human being. Depressed and humiliated, I tried to claw my way out. You know do it on my own. Then one night I looked in the cabinets and saw all the food was gone. I had no choice it was do or die. I took my principles and pride and pushed them aside. Now I get a little help from the state. I am grateful for every small amount. Believe me it has been used. However sometimes I think it would be nice to have fresh vegetables fresh fruit.

I am not uneducated on what food we should eat. I know what’s good to eat. There is only so much money and food has to last a week. So yes I am the one you talk about. I bet neither side would care to know my name. To you I am a statistic a way to prove your point. I am a way to gain support in the pools. I am a piece to be played; I am there so you can lay blame. I am the one suffering. I know what it’s like to lose. I am the one crying when between food and medicine I have to choose. I didn’t ask to be here. I fought like hell not to be. Yet circumstances happened, out of my control.

Here I am, yes it’s me. I am not alone. There are thousand just like me .We are the suffering. We are, the lost, the forgotten. We are the working poor. We are the people of the United States of America. We are workers, veterans, mechanics and nurses. We are the people who pump your gas, serve you breakfast. We are the people treated like dirt. We are those who work are hardest and have nothing to show for it.

Day after day you sit on Capitol Hill, pontificating and grand standing. You argue like little boys, in a pissing match. Stop! Grow up! Please do what you’re paid to do. God knows if you were in the private sector we would have fired you. Do the job we pay you to do. Govern, lead, fix. For the good of all the people not just the few. You see WE THE PEOPLE includes me. For the people by the people. WE THE PEOPLE!  WE THE PEOPLE! Read it again that includes me

Sincerely

Hungry in the USA.

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

Parenting & Lifestyle Together

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

Parenting & Lifestyle Together

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

