tsf36

Has The Church Got It Wrong?

In Religion, Uncategorized on June 3, 2014 at 6:55 pm

 

I read an article this morning about the reason behind declining churches. The author Thom S. Rainer said in simply terms, that the problem is inward focus. Things like not ministering to the community, Members unwillingness to change and in fighting and bickering within congregations. I try to stay away from religion in my writing but something about this article stuck with me and I had to write about it.

I was brought up with a very religious Mother. I memorized the books of the bible as well as verse. As I was reading this article, I could hear my mother’s voice saying “Be ye kind one to another “.  This lead  my thoughts to  John 13: 34 :A new commandment I give unto you, That you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another”. Mark 12:31 reiterates this “Love your neighbor as yourself” Hmm I see a theme don’t you?

I am going to propose another reason churches and church attendance is on the decline and it’s simple. Hypocrisy! We preach one thing; claim to follow the teachings of Jesus and then act like anything but Christians. I am a person of faith and I have done it. I often have to check myself. I am just as guilty as you. We fight over bake sales, funding and comity positions. We seldom go out into the community and share our faith without ulterior motives. Churches have become a place where cliques are formed.  They feel exclusive not inclusive.

I am not suggesting that we not go to church or that there is anything wrong with fellowship and having close friends at church. I truly love my church family. I am suggesting that we put are money where are mouth is and practice what we preach. We must put Faith into action not just talk about it. It is easy to be kind and love when we are with like minded people or things are going our way. A true test of our devotion to God is when we do it in the face of extreme stress or even anger. Putting our own wants and needs aside to server the greater good.

People stop coming when church becomes lip service. Our youth in particular pull away from church and God, when they see how us “so called Christians behave” in and outside of church.  They see the hypocrisy and the do as I say not as I do mentality. We are human and therefore will never be perfect. That however doesn’t mean we stop trying. In fact we should try even harder to change that perception.

It would seem to me that the solution is easy and it come straight for Jesus ‘Love one another has I have loved you, that you also love one another. If we follow this commandment outwardly we will bring people back to god.

A friend of mine reminded me of this quote from A Christmas Carol by Dickens “Mankind should have been my business”. Not biblical but certainly true. You can’t follow Jesus with out loving all of man kind even the ones we don’t like!

Here is the link to the Thom S. Rainer article.

http://thomrainer.com/2014/05/31/common-factor-declining-churches/

TS

  1. Excellent read. Please feel free to share your inspiration at Godinterest (Christian Social Media). God Bless Your Ministry.

  2. I think these are the kinds of things many want o believe are turning people from the churches. It’s and easy answer, blames people instead of ideas, and offers a possible fix. More likely, however, people are turned away by the increasing exposure to the marketplace of ideas and the readily available criticisms of their own beliefs. Even 20 years ago most people didn’t yet have this kind of access to open argument and debate – it was the environment of elite colleges and only there did we see people abandoning traditional churches by the thousands. This same environment is now open to anyone, and every idea stands challenged.

  3. I would agree on some level. However There are those who still are solid in there Christian beliefs but are disillusioned with the Church itself. It was this person I was referring to. I was exposed to many different ideas and ideologies as a child. My mom was religious my father was Gnostic and studied mysticism. He taught us to question everything and never stop studying. Even my own spirituality and theory’s on God do not follow “traditional Christian beliefs”, Though I Know God. It is different for everyone. Thank you for the comment. I enjoy seeing other people’s point of view.

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

A Parenting Lifestyle Website

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

A Parenting Lifestyle Website

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

