tsf36

IS IT OK TO BE ANGRY WITH GOD?

In Religion on June 22, 2014 at 1:09 pm

 

Image

Good Morning:

Have you ever got up on a Sunday and thought, why am I going to church? I mean really allowed yourself to think it, or admit it. I woke up this morning at 6:30. I put coffee on ,read the news and then ran the dishwasher. I got showered and dressed put my face on and pulled out my heals. I was putting on the finishing touches you know earrings, perfume etc and I looked in the mirror and thought do I really want to do this today? The answers was no. I don’t feel like going.I will have to wake my family up, they will all be grumpy. I will have to stop for doughnuts because the kids will be hungry. I have one million other things I have to do. To top it off God and I haven’t been close these days. In fact I think I have been rather distant from him since my Mother passed in February.

So why go? Will my heart be in it.Will I say the prayers with a resentful heart or worse an empty one. If that’s the case won’t God know and be displeased? Then God gave me the answer. This is the day I need to go most. Not because I need contrition but because I don’t. God is not mad at me and understands that in my grief my faith was shaken. It is ok to lose faith it is ok to question it is even ok to be angry. We are human and imperfect. God doesn’t love us less when we have a crisis of faith. I feel that he loves us more in that moment, because that is when we need him the most.

When I was a little girl we were told at church you must apologize to God for your sins.I was about 7 or 8 years old. I remember asking my Mom this. “Mommy what if I am not sorry for what I did ”?  I’ll never forget her answer. “Honey you just tell god that you are sorry that you are not sorry, you know you should be, The lord knows you are a good girl and he loves you”. God reminded me of that today. I’m going to go to church today and I am going to be sorry that i’m not sorry. I know that when the fog of grief lifts, God will be there. He will still love me and forgive me.

Why? Simply because God has infinite patience and Grace. Grace is a gift given though we have done nothing to deserve it!

 

Happy Sunday. May the grace of God be with you as I know it is with me

Ts

 

  1. You have it SO right! The days I feel least like going are usually the days God has something to say to me … Keep the faith, sister!

    • Thanks for reading. I think that is true for most people. God speaks when we need to hear it. Not always when we want to hear it lol.

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

Parenting & Lifestyle Together

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

The Eclectic Witch

 Tarot reader and Spell Caster

N J Crosskey

Writer, mother, aspiring author. Misadventures in literature.

Whirlwind Magazine

Whirlwind Magazine is a print and online quarterly literature/art journal focusing on social justice.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Shine Your Darkness

A Noir Initiative

Message With A Bottle

Parenting & Lifestyle Together

what's poppin'?

For those about to read, I salute you !

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Universe According to Snow White

Adventures of a Mid-Life Princess

Caustic Synergy

United and alone in the world

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

OhHowOrdinary

The World Through The Eyes Of An Incredibly Average Teenager And Writer

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

